Met Opera and Lincoln Center

IMG_5468.JPG

When we booked our trip to New York, I said “I don’t care what we do whilst we’re there as long as we go to the Met”. A lot of my disposable income goes on opera here in London, so it just makes sense to spend some dollars on it too. Also I have the Met’s Eugene Onegin from 2015 which is simply superb. Unfortunately there were only 3 operas on during our time in NY: Tristan und Isolde (which I’d seen recently here with the same Tristan), La Boheme (which I have already seen sooo many times), and Don Giovanni. It was a trip with university friends, and we’d put on Don G in student performances in our final year so it seemed the most appropriate option. (And Wagner is a lot to put people through if they aren’t big fans….)

We took the subway up to Lincoln Center for a Saturday matinee, and I have to admit I wasn’t overly-wowed by the performance (such a shame because there were many things in the 2016-17 season I would’ve liked to see, including Aida or Rusalka). BUT Lincoln Center itself is pretty stunning so I’m going to focus on that instead.

14517583_10101518227523905_4362745060447227368_n.jpgThe opera house opened 50 years ago, but it still feels brand new to me – perhaps that’s because I’m so used to Covent Garden or the Coliseum.

img_54801.jpgThere are various musicians we associate with the Met (conductors Gustav Mahler and Arturo Toscanini, singers Enrico Caruso and Maria Callas) that never appeared in this building (the “old Met” was on 39th and Broadway). But we are treading the ground where Leonard Bernstein, Luciano Pavarotti, Renata Tebaldi have been.

We booked tickets quite far in advance but as far as I’m aware it’s unlikely for the Met to sell-out. We had nice seats in a separate box for around $30 each, which was pretty good I think. The fact that it’s a new-ish house means the sightlines were good too.

New York wasn’t my favourite place I’ve ever visited, but I can drum up quite a lot of enthusiasm about the food.

Pins on this post

  • Lincoln Center
2 thoughts on “Met Opera and Lincoln Center

Leave a Reply

